Staying On The Workout Wagon Through The Holidays

Falling off the Wagon

The holidays are quickly approaching and this year I vow to not fall off the workout wagon. This will be a really hard challenge for me. There’s so many parties and dinners coming up I don’t know if my healthy living lifestyle will survive. I’ve devised a plan to keep me from falling completely off the wagon. Here’s what I came up with:

  • Keep my workout schedule as close to normal as possible. Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday are usually my workout days. I doubt I will see a workout on Thanksgiving so my plan is to go on Wednesday and get a good bit of cardio in. This should lessen my guilt when I sit down to Thanksgiving dinner.
  • Plan my cheat days in advance. Friday and Saturday are my splurge days. I try to eat very clean Sunday through Thursday and slack off on my cheat days. It keeps me sane. The holidays don’t fall on my cheat days to I plan to adjust. Next week Thursday and Friday will be my cheat days and I pray it doesn’t roll over into Saturday.
  • Practicing portion control. Though I would love to eat an entire plate of dressing, I won’t. Nor will I eat three small plates of dressing consecutively. This year I plan to eat normal and maybe even smaller portions
  • Make my favorite foods healthier. I’m on the hunt for healthier ways to make my favorite dishes. Instead of fat soaked collard greens I’ll make roasted green beans and instead of sweet potato soufflé I will make baked sweet potatoes. Baby steps, baby steps.
  • I will NOT obsess over the scale! The truth is, I probably will gain a couple of pounds during the holidays, but it’s ok. If I stick to my plan the cardio will hopefully balance out my meals. If not, there’s always that New Year’s resolution to lose weight (lol).

As the saying goes: If you fail to plan, then you plan to fail. Wish me luck! I can already taste the yummy desserts, mac and cheese, dressing, and cocktails.

What’s your plan to stay on the workout wagon through the holidays? Share it!
What do you think?

